On my way!

“Google can bring you back 100,000 answers.  A librarian can bring you back the right one.”

– Neil Gaiman

I think Neil Gaiman has accurately summed up one of the most exciting aspects of librarianship – helping people to get what they need.  I believe it is the best feeling in the world to help people, and in this day and age with the overwhelming amount of information that is out there, there needs to be someone who can sift through everything and show others the way to what they’re looking for.  I can’t count the number of times I’ve had to wade through pages upon pages of Google’s results to my inquiry, only to get frustrated when I can’t find what I’ve been looking for.  Being a librarian of course is about books, and I have so much love for books, but it’s also about information.  It says it in our degree title – Library and Information Sciences.  I think the information part is often overlooked when people first think about librarians – many people just think of them as the rule enforcers in the library telling people to shh.  But that’s not all there is. Not by a long-shot.  And I can’t wait to be able to bring back answers for people who need my help.

One response to “On my way!”

  1. amycote23 says :

    I love that Neil Gaiman quote…it’s one of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

